“Viola Liuzzo Who?”

On the eve of a history making democratic debate, I began to look back down the crossroads of time, reminiscent of how we got here.
As I strolled through the dark days for the sixties from Selma to Montgomery, I ran across an unfamilar name of a fallen soldier.
I am sure as most people, I did not recognize this fallen Civil Rights activist. The first thing that came to mine was,

“Viola Liuzzo who?”

I began to think out loud, this does not sound like a black person’s name. Neither does this sound like a man’s name. No, this person seems to be a white woman. Do you mean a white woman is among those who gave their lives for Hillary and Obama to face off tonight in an equal forum???

You know my cultural heart rate was off the charts. My consciousness was tasered by this revelation. Ms Liuzzo was a 39 years old mother of five who was murdered by the KKK in 1965 after the march to Mongomery march in Alabama.
Ms Liuzzo got involved with the civil rights movement after seeing the horrible images of the aborted march at the Edmund Pettus Bridge. She is noted to have said, this struggle, “was everybody’s fight!”

Wow!

What a powerful statement!
A statement that is as relevent today as then.
So as we watch this historical debate tonight we must put this snapshot into perscective. Not only has this been a long time coming, but it came with a very high cost.
Whether black or white, male or female, young or old, rich or poor; we all must be reminiscent of the long hard blood stain road that we as a people have traveled to get here…

So as we watch history being made tonight right in front of our eyes with our family and friends, let us take note.
Viola Liuzzo made history in 1965 that has taken this long to be realized. The struggle is not a black thing, it’s a civil rights thing…
It’s a human rights thing…
We must not forget!
We can not forget!
We will not forget!

“Viola Liuzzo Who?”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Viola_Liuzzo

7 Responses to ““Viola Liuzzo Who?””

  1. sally Liuzzo-Prado Says:

    Thank you for a wonderful article regarding my mother. It means so much to my family that she is never forgotten

  2. culturallyconscious Says:

    Thank you for responding and letting us all know that her legacy lives on! I hope that one day your mother’s name will be well known as a woman who put action to her words and got involved. “We will never forget!!!”

  3. Sally Liuzzo-Prado Says:

    I read in your post that you received two comments, one from myself and one from Viola’s son…….so I was wondering was the other comment from my brother Tom or Tony? I was wondering why it wasn’t published. Thanks
    Sally

  4. culturallyconscious Says:

    I believe I have been a victim of spam. I recieved a comment from someone who claim relationship. I can’t find it now but will continue looking. I moderate all my comments so if you will send me an email address I will make sure this does not happen again.

    J. Anugs John

  5. Rose Mary Lemming Says:

    Thank you so much for the kind words about my sister Viola Liuzzo. Your article is greatly appreciated. Rose Mary

  6. Mrs. Viola Liuzzo, will not be forgotton. I pray one day her name will be well known. She was such a brave woman. Witha true chirstian heart for righteous. Gave her life for the cause. I was so touch by hear, for she was white, but yet she was concern for people of color.
    She will be remember in our Back History program this month also.
    “We will never forget!”

  7. Reblogged this on Culturallyconscious's Weblog and commented:

    Mrs. Viola Liuzzo, will not be forgotton. I pray one day her name will be well known. She was such a brave woman. Witha true chirstian heart for righteous. Gave her life for the cause. I was so touch by hear, for she was white, but yet she was concern for people of color.
    She will be remembered…
    “We will never forget!”

Leave a Reply

