“What’s in a Name???”

Wow!!!

I am surprized to hear these comments about Obama’s name now…

This is old news!!!

For that matter, everything about Obama’s life is “old news!”
Why would I say this???
Barack Obama wrote it all down himself in a book that he promotes constantly… When I first heard that he had written a book, I thought wow, was that dumb… Well now, I see why he wrote the book and launched a website which reiterates all of the above… If anybody don’t know everything about Obama by now, it is because they are too lazy to read… And certainly, by now everyone knows his middle name… Dahhhhhh!

Now let’s talk culture…
Culturally the majority of African Americans don’t have a clue what’s in their name… Names like Washington, Jefferson, Williamson, Jacobs, Johnson, Winfrey, Lee, Brown, Davis and the like…
Where did these names come from???
Should we be proud of these names???
Well, who knows???
My name, Jacobs, could have been the biggest “klan lynchman” in the south… And just because my folks were his slaves, we got his name… Actually because my name is John Jacobs, I was often confused with the John Jacob of the Uran League…

I met a man name James Brown once…
He was a white guy and did not have any “Soul!”

Wow…

So what’s in a name like Obama…
Probably not a white man from our slavery past… I don’t ever remember hearing a name like Obama before… But I am sure that in some parts of Kenya, they are very familiar with this name…

So let’s face it, it’s not the name that makes the man, but it’s the man that makes the name…

I don’t think Obama has anything to weary about when it comes to his name… Those scare tactics would work if people could not google him from their cell phones… But because the people that support Obama are from all walks of life and quite frankly, I don’t know anyone without a cell phone… If they have to put it in their mama’s name, they got a cell phone…
So there…

Now you know I like to keep it interesting…
If Obama is going to wrap up this primary next week, he must not forget what people liked about him in the first place.
Honesty!!!
Humility!!!
Professionalism!!!
Rhythum!!!

The American people know who’s lying to them or trying to freighten them…
Americans are fighters by nature and even the more after 911… The way Americans look at things are greatly different now than before 911… Before 911 the American people were complacent and disconnected. Now the American people are awake and alert… They are not looking for someone who will tell them what they think they want to hear…

No, No, No!!!

The American people wants someone that will tell them the truth, listen to their concerns, and let them, the American people, be apart of the solution…

I know to some this sounds really stupid!!!

But (yes the big but in the room) our founding fathers knew this about the American people when they penned, “We the people of the United States of America!!!”
Wow, isn’t this a novel idea… That “we the people” can be intimately involved in our government and the problem solving process to issues that directly effect us…

Wow…
Go Figure!!!

I hear Hillary and McCain say, “I” all the time… I hear Obama say, “we” all the time… Do you remember that “Vibe” I talked about in an earlier post??? Well here it goes again… The founding fathers are ancestors of this great land… They left a “Vibe” called “we the people…” Then came Obama! Obama reverberates this “Vibe” and the American people respond just as they did over two centuries ago…

Wow!!!
Ain’t this some exciting stuff???

And let me say, that the idea Obama has to talk to other countries has always been our motto until recently… Even during the cold war, there was lot of communication going on… So hats off to you Sen. Obama… You would think this would have been discussed in Diplomacy 101…
Dahhhhhhhh!!!

Quick story, I worked for GM back in the 80’s for a short time… I met a “klansman” who worked a few desk over… Acturally, I met several Klansmen in/around Anderson Indiana… Well, one morning I started talking to this guy. He showed me a ring then asked me if I knew what it meant… I said No…
He told me what he was and that I had “Better not” get caught in his area after dark. And as long as I understand that we would not have a problem…” I said, “Ok, is that all!” He said, “Yes, let’s have some coffee!”
That guy and I would talk on and off all the time… I am not saying that we were buddies… But I was not afraid to talk to him and he had no objection to talking to me…
I can only say we learned alot about each other…
Hummmmmm!!!

What’s in a Name???

Leave a Reply

