“Then came Obama!”

There once was a man named Dr Martin Luther King Jr..
He taught me how to dream.
He was born in a time when all men and women were not free and there was no equality.
He said, “I have a dream,
I’ve been to the mountain top,
I’ve seen the promise land.
I saw black people, white people, protestants, catholics, jews and gentiles;
all holding hands…

Living, Living the dream. I’m just living King’s dream…
Living, Living the dream. We are living King’s dream…

He taught men and women to stand up, taught them to speak out, and non-violently fight for their rights… So they boycotted, they sat-in, they marched on with passion; through the morning, Through the noonday, and through the night.
And through blood, through sweat, and through tears; they persevered, in the cold, the wet, and the sun.
And in the mist of persecution, they stood hand in hand;
singing we shall overcome…

Living, Living the dream. I’m just living King’s dream…
Living, Living the dream. We are living King’s dream…

So they marched on Birmingham,
they marched on Selma,
they marched on Washington.
And before a crowd of two hundred and fifty thousand, stood a preacher’s son…
He said, “We have been through trials,
we have been through tribulations,
and we have been through adversity.
But we are going to keep on marching, even if it cost me my life – Until
“All God’s Children are free!””
But at the peek of King’s existence, a sniper round rang out, the dreamer – He was gone… The whole world stopped, they looked and they listened;
to see if His dream would live on.
In the mist of sorrow, in the mist of anger, in the mist of uncertainty; stood a people, broken, discouraged, yearning to be free…
Then all of a sudden, deep down in their heart, a song they began to sing;
with a new committment, a new determination, they sang in the words of the fallen King.
“From the hills of the Aleganies,
from the Colorado Rockies,
from Lookout – point of Tennesse…
From the Mississippi Hills, from Stone Mountain of Georgia,
“Let Freedom Ring”” they sang…

Living, Living the dream. I’m just living King’s dream…
Living, Living the dream. We are living King’s dream…

Now I can dream to be President!
I can dream to be a Senator!
I can dream to be an Ambassador!
I can dream to be a scientist, physician, and chemist or a mere entertainer…
I can dream to be anything that I want, and I can go anywhere I please.
From the North,
the South,
the East and
the West;
and I can sail the Seven Seas…

Living, Living the dream.
I’m just living King’s dream…
Living, Living the dream.

Thank God, We are; living King’s dream…
Wow…
What would Martin say about the events of today???
I believe that Martin would say to all people,

“We can all “Live the Dream!””
And…
“Then Came Obama!!!”

Leave a Reply

