“Pres. Obama: Comment from “The Audacity of “the Signifying Monkey!!!”””

Wow…
This is some exciting stuff…
As we discuss the racial ramification of  the Professor Gates/ Jim Crow-ley saga, we see several different points of  view…   Please allow me to say that I was struck by the following comment from a white gentlement from the hills of Tennessee…  
Check it out:

regionarrington Says:
July 25, 2009 at 8:12 pm e

 

I am speaking to you as a white man, a white man living in the hills of East Tennessee. I am speaking to you as a white man, living in the hill of East Tennessee who wore a Deputy Sheriff’s badge for eighteen years. When you hear these words I just wrote, what comes to mind? Racist!!! I would not be hurt if you said, Yes. I understand your point of view, I can not understand where you come from, because I have not lived your life. I am a very strong supporter of President Obama, I understand also that some in MY community HATE him. They say he was not born here, ” He is an illegal immigrant.” It is not his status as an American they question. it’s his status as a human being and his right as an equal American. As I said, I understand your point of view, because I care and nothing more. I can not understand, ” living black in America,” because I am living white in East Tennessee. I can only say, yes there is a such a thing as Police abuse, cross burnings, hate speech. I have seen it and been near it, but not a part of it. I can only assure you of one thing, not everyone is as they appear. I am retired from Law Enforcement and not by choice. A fifteen year old girl stabbed me near my spine and retired me, she did not appear to be who she was either. I can assure you that I respect and honor President Obama as President Of The United States and do not question his authority as such. I can assure you, I understand your concern for the African American community and I hope and pray the election of President Obama has a positive effect. I can only assure you that I for one respect people from the inside out and think we can only fully evolve as human beings, when we start seeing each other as equals. Each with the same rights as the other, and yes, this includes being President.

 

There you have it… 
The one thing that really sticks out to me is this man’s admission that “I can not understand, ” living black in America,” because I am living white in East Tennessee. I can only say, yes there is a such a thing as Police abuse, cross burnings, hate speech.”  
Wow… 
These are very powerful statements…  It speaks volumes about the mood in the country about this terrible incident around “Racial Profiling…” 
No, I don’t expect a white person to understand how I feel “living black in America,” but (Big phat unfair treatment but in the room) I do expect them to understand how it feels to be treated unfairly…   I believe this gentlemen can feel me on this point…   Mr. Arrington, I salute you for your bravery to speak “truth to power…”

Wow…
As I browse the Twitter category “Gates,”  I have found several different comments in defense of  Professor Gates…  It seems that the country is ready for this conversation about “racial profiling” even if the Cambridge Police dept is not…  
I feel that this is the time for it to be done… 
Pres. Obama must live by his own words he used regular in the campaign,

“the urgency of now…”  

Now is the time to make our voice known as a people about the way we will be treated as American citizens… 

If not now, then when???
After more black men are profiled and/or killed by racist Police officers…  
“I dare say, “Not!!!””

 
“Do you feel me???”
“I know you do…”
“Let me hear you say, Yes, Yes, Yes we can…”

“Pres. Obama: Comment from “The Audacity of “the Signifying Monkey!!!”””

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

